Oh my October: Pocketfull of learnings

It’s my birthday month! Yay!

I love celebrating my birthday. But so much has happened in the past year, so many turning points, that this particular birthday, my 31st, signifies so many things for me. And jumping on this once-a-year license to get all nostalgic and sentimental, I have decided to list down 31 things that I have learned and realized…about myself, about people, about life. Not much, perhaps the list will not even cover all. But this should be enough to give me a pocketful of hopes and wisdom for whatever’s next.

Oh, and by the way, I don’t intend to finish this list in one sitting. I plan to take this whole week or even month to try to remember and ponder theΒ things that made up who I am now, big or small. I hope that you pick up something, anything out of this list.

  1. I learned how to read well. Not just words, but also situations and people. I still don’t know how it happens or even how to prove it, but most of the time my gut-feel about something or someone is always true and correct.
  2. Also, that I will never be a fast reader. I like to dwell on the words and sentences, to go back over and over until I get one or different meanings out of it.
  3. That one doesn’t have to know a lot of recipes to be a good cook. Sometimes, all you need to learn is how to make omelet and a mean pasta dish and at least one person on earth will think you are awesome at it.
  4. I realized that I can never escape writing. No matter what I do, I just keep coming back to it.
  5. That there are certain things that even if you try to hide or change, they will still come out. Like how probably, blue is really my favorite color, even if I try to deny it. Half of my closet is blue and I did not intend it to be. It just happened and I just noticed.
  6. That a Coke-less life is possible. Also a dessert-less life. A fastfood-free life is hard though but I’m working on it.
  7. That nothing else ever really changes a woman profoundly the way motherhood does. No other words can elaborate this.
  8. That a person comes out of age more than once in her life. I used to love reading coming -of-age fiction when I was in my teens and I thought that THAT important transition happens only once when you suddenly mature and turn into an “adult”. But having experienced “adulting”, I’ve come to know that even that takes different stages and levels. And you come out of each stage a different person. This thought, perhaps, is one of the greatest inspirations behind my blog.
  9. That people you meet are either posts or passersby. The posts stay with you forever, no matter the season, no matter the change. The passersby hang out for a while, then will set on foot again. Both kinds are brought into your life for a reason, and who’s meant to go will eventually go, who’s meant to stay will stay. It’s not their fault, it’s a natural cycle that makes the world round. Like how you are also a post to someone and just a passersby to others. Also, that you don’t need too many posts in your life. Just a few but strong ones and you’re good.
  10. That while motherhood may be the most magical thing to ever happen to a woman, it doesn’t and shouldn’t define her completely. That every woman is a mom and more. I almost kinda fell into this trap in my first year of motherhood. I love being Tino’s mom, and I love my son the most and I wouldn’t change the decisions I did for him if I had to. But eventually, I’ve come to realize that my baby will sooner or later turn to be his own person and what would be left of me? I cannot be justΒ Tino’s mom, right? I’m still learning this and still trying to find myself again, but I do know it’s another learning process. I’m just glad this realization has set in.
  11. I’ve learned that a clutter-free life is waaaaaay better. I used to be a hoarder and a sentimental-junkie. I hated having to throw or give away stuff even if they’re just collecting dust, because I see those things with sentimental-colored glasses. But piled up, they become a baggage or clutter. And it’s hard to find a sense of order when there’s too much clutter. I mean these points in both the literal way and otherwise. Now, I’m a decluttering addict.
  12. I’ve realized that absolutely nothing in this life will ever make sense, until you relate back everything to GOD. That if you put HIM in every situation that you have, you’ll get the answers why things that happened happen. Amazingly, even if you don’t get the answers, it will still make sense to you because of HIM. Otherwise, life will just be a huge guessing game. And I think it’s not a fun way to take on life, just guessing.
  13. That life really is all about the choices you make. That everyday we are presented with so many different choices and options and how the day turns out is usually just a result of what choices we made.
  14. That choosing your own battle is a worthwhile exercise. Not just for your emotions but also for your total wellbeing – physically, mentally. Maybe this is also related to no. 15. Because part of choosing your own battle is knowing how much of you should you really say or do.
  15. That no matter what you do, other people will never really get to know the 100% you. Maybe they don’t see it enough, or maybe you don’t show it enough, or maybe it’s just because your current state or situation calls you to be a certain version of yourself. Doesn’t mean you’re being fake, because even if it’s just 50 or 35%, it’s still a percentage of who you really are.
  16. That thread count really does matter. Yes, thread count in bed. And as you grow older and wiser, you’ll only get more conscious of it. Only because you know you always always always deserve better.
  17. That traveling with a toddler is the real test of character. Seriously. And more often, it turns out to be the best journey you’ve ever had.
  18. I realized that sneakers are just the best shoes ever. I hated it in my 20s. But because comfort, check. Style, yes. Practical, yup. Comfort, definitely. Especially with a toddler. And comfort, did I say comfort already? Why didn’t I wear it before???

 

Leave a Reply

